GQ February 2024 Cover Issue | Xiao Zhan the New Masculinity

COVER STORY
01. Relaxation

The photo shoot took place by the Huangpu River in Shanghai. Xiao Zhan, wrapped in a black down jacket, had taken off his shoes and sat cross-legged in a corner of the sofa, looking incredibly relaxed. Despite working continuously for over 7 hours, there was no sign of fatigue on his face.

This is a face that has been constantly under scrutiny in the latest period. A few months ago, the studio released a set of birthday photos of Xiao Zhan, and keen-eyed netizens immediately noticed that his face had “rounded”. To portray the character of Guo Jing in director Tsui Hark’s movie “The Legend of the Condor Heroes: The Great Hero” Xiao Zhan had gained weight before joining the cast. His cheeks were no longer as slender, and his physique had noticeably bulked up. In the photos, he sported a beard, adding a touch of maturity.

Strictly speaking, “The Legend of the Condor Heroes: The Great Hero” is Xiao Zhan’s second film, and the role of Guo Jing has had many notable portrayals before him, adding to the visible pressure.

On the day of the cover shoot for “GQ Magazine” Xiao Zhan woke up early to go for a run. He couldn’t help but think, “Oh no, I’m sweating so much, and I’m going to lose muscle, right?” He debated whether to continue but ultimately decided to run for a full 30 minutes. As the time passed, he realized that fat consumption only begins after 30 minutes of running, so he ran an extra 10 minutes.
All of this effort was for the sake of his work. “Honestly, I don’t want to run. Running makes you lose muscle, but I have to run to reduce swelling.” After the shoot, he planned to do weight training no matter how late it got. An actor’s self-discipline involves being ready at all times to shape their image for a role while strictly controlling their diet and managing their physique. Xiao Zhan considers both as professional principles and demands them from himself.

Before meeting him, I thought Xiao Zhan would be very cautious during the interview. Surprisingly, he exuded a rare sense of relaxation, answering every question and even injecting some humor. When discussing how actors need to observe characters in real life, he casually commented on the sitting postures of the people present. Asked about unexpected things after entering the industry, his response was: not being able to eat whatever he wanted like his high school classmates.

The interview lasted nearly two hours, and I wondered what kind of experience it had been for Xiao Zhan to be under such immense scrutiny for these years. Xiao Zhan, however, said that many times he has forgotten about it, and it hasn’t caused much trouble in his life. The “cruellest” thing might be, “Not being able to eat freely.”
“I still sneak out to ride a bicycle, take a walk, City Walk a bit. Only once, after walking for 5 minutes in an alley, I was recognized. I have even sneaked into a movie theater to watch a movie, and nobody cares about you, really. Many things become easier once you leave the internet. Sometimes, what we see in front of us is not the whole world; it’s a misconception, but we can’t avoid it, so there’s nothing we can do.”
There are many things he wants to do, such as taking the subway, strolling through malls. “I really do take the subway. Maybe tomorrow. It’s too normal. I used to take the subway every day.” For Xiao Zhan, this is his true life. The voices on social media no longer bother him. “After so many years if I would still be bothered, would I still be alive? (laughs) It’s really okay.”

At this stage, Xiao Zhan is content with his current life. “I have work, my own life, and fans who like me. There’s nothing to be dissatisfied with.”


02 Becoming an Actor

To some extent, Xiao Zhan’s sense of relaxation comes from a clearer sense of purpose. External voices no longer bother him; he is clear about what he wants and what he doesn’t. Now, he is more focused on subtracting from his life. In the past two years, he has rarely appeared on variety shows, treating the profession of acting as his most important current goal.

In 2023, three dramas starring Xiao Zhan were released, and each role posed a challenge for him. In interviews, Xiao Zhan has often mentioned the “great pressure”, almost saying it whenever he looks back at each stage. However, his tone is light, lacking the heavy burden of complaint, more like a post-analysis and summary. The reasons are often specific and objective: the first encounter with non-physical objects performance, the first time carrying the lead role, the first time acting in a modern drama, and so on.

“Where Dreams Begin” is a script that Xiao Zhan particularly likes. He appreciates the stories of that generation. Having watched some TV dramas in his childhood, such as “Romantic Life” and “Happiness as Flowers”, when it comes to the seventies and eighties, he envisions brightness and colors. Many people say that the character Xiao Chunsheng is perfect, but Xiao Zhan sees it as his biggest flaw. He finds the character interesting and wants to give it a try. Xiao Chunsheng is a young man from Beijing, and portraying the character’s charisma, speaking authentic Beijing dialect, is a significant challenge for Xiao Zhan, who grew up in Chongqing.

In “The Longest Promise” the character Shi Ying is aloof. To live up to everyone’s expectations for his ancient costume appearance, Xiao Zhan worked hard to lose weight before joining the production. “The Longest Promise” is a script he received in 2020. Within the range of scripts he could choose from, it had the most complete character and the most delicate emotions. Its logical consistency is very strong, making it his best choice.

“Sunshine by My Side” is the script Xiao Zhan has been in contact with the longest, starting in late 2019. Although Sheng Yang in “Sunshine by My Side” coincides with Xiao Zhan’s professional height before his debut, bringing the life of a designer to the screen and portraying it naturally and convincingly is something he is unsure about. “Modern dramas, slice-of-life dramas are really unfamiliar territories.” Initially, he was too eager to deliver the lines, memorizing them thoroughly. However, he realized that the lines in modern dramas have strong logical consistency in terms of pauses, emphasis on certain words, and structure.

In recent years, he has played roles such as a soldier, doctor, designer, and a young man from Beijing. “There’s no special consideration; it all naturally happened.” He rarely plays repetitive roles. When choosing scripts, Xiao Zhan doesn’t deliberately avoid previous genres. Instead, he puts himself in the audience’s perspective to see if he can be moved. In 2021, he starred in the stage play “A Dream Like a Dream”, playing the role of Patient No. 5. On the premiere day, several topics related to the play became trending on Weibo, making it a phenomenal event in the theatrical circle.

Xiao Zhan hesitated for a long time before taking on the role of “A Dream Like a Dream” There were many reasons for his hesitation: being from Chongqing, not having a formal acting background, the play not allowing room for mistakes, lasting a lengthy 8 hours, and the character of the Patient N° 5 having many classic interpretations in previous versions of the play. However, after reading the script, Xiao Zhan felt compelled to take on the role.

Stage plays are a very pure form of expression. Dozens or even hundreds of people gather in one space to tell a story, an experience that filming TV shows or movies cannot replicate, and Xiao Zhan yearned for it. He started memorizing lines obsessively, locking himself away in Tangshan with the entire cast for over a month, refining each scene.

“I was extremely nervous during the first performance, and even thinking back now, it still makes me nervous. When Gu Xianglan shook the bell, I had a sudden shock.” In that moment when the spotlight hit him, Xiao Zhan felt everything freeze. He couldn’t see the expressions of the audience below, only a sea of white.

Xiao Zhan adjusted his breathing and began delivering his lines. The director mentioned that the opening actor sets the pace for the entire story, making every recitation of those lines the most nerve-wracking for Xiao Zhan. As he spoke, he would gradually forget his nervousness. After finishing, he would take a deep breath, thinking, “Ah, it’s finally over.”

One time, towards the end of the first half, the Patient N° 5 went on stage holding a painting and an address, searching for Gu Xianglan. There was a long monologue. Midway through the stage, Xiao Zhan suddenly blanked out; he couldn’t recall the beginning of the next word. After about 15 seconds of hesitation, he chose to skip that word and continued speaking. He believed the audience wouldn’t notice. Even after the performance, he never remembered that word.

“I couldn’t recall it even in the dressing room. When I checked the script, it turned out to be that word.”
“What word?”
“A very ordinary word, like drinking pure water. I was thinking, what water to drink? Distilled water? Tap water? Boiled water? I just couldn’t remember.” Xiao Zhan replied.

Acting is a profound art, and Xiao Zhan admits, “I’ve only scratched the surface so far.” While filming “Sunshine by My Side,” his co-stars were seasoned actors, and in terms of acting skills, Xiao Zhan felt inexperienced. He reminded himself to “design less” and earnestly feel and react to everything the other party presents.

Due to his life experiences, Xiao Zhan found it challenging to understand many roles. He discussed this issue with senior actors, and opinions varied. Some believed that you must go through those experiences; without them, you wouldn’t have a frame of reference and couldn’t portray it authentically. Others argued that everything could be solved with technique. Xiao Zhan’s solution was to “act more, explore various types” and collaborate with “better teams, actors, and directors.”

To be honest, Xiao Zhan admitted, “What I can do now is only act things within my understanding. It’s quite challenging to act something completely unfamiliar. Perhaps in the future, through a work or collaboration with more talented directors and actors, I can unravel my confusion. I look forward to that day coming soon.”

03. Letting Go: Xiao Zhan’s Journey to Balance

Relaxation is one side of Xiao Zhan; he can manage a portion of the pressure, but there’s a part that proves challenging for him to resolve. Xiao Zhan faces difficulties with sleep, stating, “I find it hard to fall asleep, and my sleep is very shallow, often feeling as if I haven’t slept at all, affecting my state the next day.” Especially when entering a new project, in a state of high nervousness, he frequently dreams about being on set and not performing well.

Regardless of the city he visits, Xiao Zhan always brings the same pillow and blanket, saying, “Anything that helps me sleep well, I bring along.” He has experimented with aromatherapy lamps, lavender essential oil, various sleep-inducing lotions, sprays for the pillow, melatonin, and meditation music. Finally, he discovered that a sleep mask, earplugs, and avoiding the phone are what work for him, saying, “Because I know if I look at it, I won’t be able to sleep, might as well get up.”

Recently, Xiao Zhan stumbled upon an old book at home, “断舍离” (Letting Go). It was recommended by his company boss when he was a designer. The life organization concepts discussed in the book made Xiao Zhan start rethinking what he truly wants and what he should let go of.

Xiao Zhan’s personality has a particularly stubborn side. “If I believe in something, and I think it’s right, it’s challenging to convince me otherwise.” For instance, he decided to become an actor, and anything outside of acting, he didn’t want to do. “You can try to force me, and then we can debate. It’s not about right or wrong; the team is also looking out for my best interest. Many works aren’t necessarily bad. But for me, it’s about subtraction because some things are genuinely not what I want.”

Xiao Zhan’s acting journey began with a story of being a “mature novice chasing dreams in the entertainment industry.” At 24, he joined a talent show, starting from scratch with leg presses and dance lessons, debuting as part of a boy band, acting in web dramas, playing supporting roles in theatrical films until he skyrocketed to fame in 2019, becoming a notable star.

When deciding to do something, give it your all. This was the education Xiao Zhan received from a young age. In middle school, he was given a mobile phone. Initially using spaces instead of punctuation marks in texts, his father sternly told him, “Where are the punctuation marks? Why is there no period at the end?” From that moment, Xiao Zhan became particular about punctuation marks.

From a young age, Xiao Zhan had a competitive spirit. In things he could control, he didn’t want to miss any opportunity. When taking the bus to school, he would get anxious for someone who overslept and missed their stop.

For things beyond his control, he reminds himself not to struggle but to learn acceptance. Before that, focus on doing what he can do.

When asked which role Xiao Zhan actively pursued before gaining fame, his surprising answer was, “Every one of them.” Before becoming famous, he tried many roles, even reaching the final rounds of auditions, having already done makeup tests, only to be replaced. Now, scripts are coming to him, but Xiao Zhan always tells himself that they’re just expressions of interest and could be sent to many people. When he finds one he truly likes, he takes the initiative to meet with the director and explain his understanding of the character.


Xiao Zhan believes that having a positive attitude is crucial. Xiao Zhan’s upbringing is no different from many post-90s individuals. His parents worked, his grandmother cooked at home, and he went to school every day. If his exam results were not good, he would face scolding. Dinner was at 6:30 every evening, and kids downstairs would call him to play games like hide and seek, tag, and throwing sandbags. As he talks about these ordinary things, he does so with enthusiasm. These seemingly mundane moments now appear precious. Xiao Zhan expresses gratitude for the first 23 years of his life, not venturing into the entertainment industry. “I cherish it; I think it’s good.”

He imagines that if he hadn’t entered the entertainment industry, he would be living a life like his classmates and friends, spending days dining with clients and staying up late to meet design deadlines. “Being seen” brings him joy. Despite a busy schedule, Xiao Zhan never complains. “Having work is a good thing, so I’ll do it well.” While filming “The Oath of Love”, he was also participating in the variety show “Our Song.” During breaks on set, he would wear headphones and softly hum songs. Other actors, curious, would approach, and Xiao Zhan would shyly explain that he was practicing the songs he would sing later in the evening. “No time, really no time.” At that time, work almost consumed his entire life. Xiao Zhan rarely takes breaks voluntarily. “It’s not realistic”, he firmly states. During his most exhausted moments, he could fall asleep while sitting on set.

This year, Xiao Zhan feels an urgency of “not acting enough”. “Compared to some seniors, they had already done many works in their thirties”. Xiao Zhan is well aware that he can’t rely on just one role to take a big step forward in his acting skills. “It might be challenging for me.” He once pondered whether he should be an actor with a personal style or one that audiences simply love. His answer is the latter. “Maybe not everyone is your fan, or they don’t have a special liking for you, but they know when your drama is on, it’s worth watching. I want to achieve that. It’s my current goal. Whether I can reach the level of being the actor I like, that’s a long road, take it slowly.”

“Film more, collaborate with more good teams, that’s my current goal. I’m not considering anything else for now”, says Xiao Zhan.

COVER STORY
Q&A on Acting

GQ Magazine: When did you decide to become an actor?
Xiao Zhan: When the public’s attention on me increased, I thought, why not give it a try? I felt that I could do it. Sometimes, doubts arise, thinking it’s challenging, why can’t I do it? For example, with dialogue, why is it not good? Why can’t I deliver lines as well as others? Is it because I’m from the south? I don’t believe that. Then I think, how can I improve? I can do it, let’s give it a try.

GQ Magazine: In your opinion, what are the professional standards for an actor?
Xiao Zhan: Firstly, having solid professional skills is unavoidable. You can be non-professionally trained, but your skills must be strong. This is what I aim for and what I am currently working on. I feel I’m not good enough yet; there’s a long way to go.
After being professionally skilled, attitude is crucial, as well as passion. Whether you see it as just a job or genuinely love it, these are two different concepts. If you treat it merely as a job, you may not be able to go far. But if you truly love it, you will cry and laugh for it, and that might be the motivation to persist.
Also, having a healthy body (laughs), in my early twenties, I didn’t feel tired, but now I feel exhausted after staying up late. Having a strong body is crucial; it is your foundation.

GQ Magazine: At what role or in which drama did you feel recognized?
Xiao Zhan: It was during “The Wolf” initially. There was a lot of pressure at that time; my acting teacher gave me many suggestions and guidance, constantly overturning my own methods every day. It was a period of confusion. After overcoming it, you’ll find growth, gradually gaining a sense while acting in subsequent roles. It’s an accumulative process.
I feel I haven’t acted enough compared to some seniors. They have done many works by their thirties, and my portfolio is still too limited. I lack sufficient accumulation.

GQ Magazine: Do you feel anxious?
Xiao Zhan: Yes, because I believe (improving acting skills) is an accumulative process. You can’t take a big step forward with just one drama, which is challenging for me. So, I have to keep filming, but I need to choose good projects without exhausting myself.

GQ Magazine: The three TV dramas aired in 2023 expanded from historical dramas to period dramas and urban dramas. What was the consideration behind this?
Xiao Zhan: There wasn’t much consideration; it happened naturally. I didn’t intentionally avoid previous themes; it’s about the script. When the scripts were presented, I was attracted to a particular one at that moment, so I chose it. It just happened to be a theme I hadn’t done before.

GQ Magazine: Do you ever feel fatigue from always playing historical roles?
Xiao Zhan: Historical roles also have many types. Don’t categorize them strictly as historical or modern dramas; it’s not just changing a headgear or costume, the core is the same, just a different shell.

GQ Magazine: When your dramas air, do you watch them?
Xiao Zhan: I don’t watch them religiously, but I do watch. I choose specific scenes that I’m interested in and focus on them, sort of finding where my own issues are.

GQ Magazine: Do you watch with comments turned on?
Xiao Zhan: I used to, it was fun to join everyone in the comments and have a good time, but now I don’t.

GQ Magazine: What kind of role would you like to play now?
Xiao Zhan: If I could choose, it would be something I haven’t tried before. I need freshness; if you do the same thing every day, you’ll get bored.

GQ Magazine: What kind of actor do you want to be?
Xiao Zhan: I want to be an actor that the audience likes.
GQ Magazine: Haven’t you already achieved that? – being liked by the people?


Xiao Zhan: No, no, I think it’s far from enough. I once thought about whether to be an actor with a personal style or be an actor that the audience just likes to watch. Currently, I want to be an actor that the audience has a good impression of. Maybe not all of them are your fans or particularly fond of you, but they know that when your drama is airing, it’s worth checking out because your dramas are good. That’s what I aim for at the moment. Whether I can reach the level of being a favorite actor is a long journey, but I’ll take it slowly.

GQ Magazine: Who are your favorite actors?
Xiao Zhan: Many, like Zhou Xun, who has always been an actress I really like. I recently watched her drama “Across the Furious Sea” and it was really great.

GQ Magazine: In 2024, do you have any plans for your career?
Xiao Zhan: Film more, collaborate with more good teams. Currently, that’s the only goal, not considering anything else for now.

Talking about life
GQ Magazine: Does the noise on social media bother you?
Xiao Zhan: It doesn’t bother me. After all these years, if I’m still bothered, am I still alive? (laughs) It’s really okay. I know clearly what I’m doing. Every choice you make, you have to know very clearly what you’re doing, what you’re giving up, and what you want to achieve. So, it’s okay, maybe the team is more bothered than I am.

GQ Magazine: Has your personal life been affected?
Xiao Zhan: No, it is very normal! I can go out cycling, take walks. When you walk on the street, really, no one cares about you. It’s not like what everyone imagines. And then, I can walk freely.

GQ Magazine: Is this a moment of escape for you?
Xiao Zhan: It’s a relaxing moment. Why escape? I’m also in the real world. Where would I escape to? This is my life, just like everyone else’s. There are still many things I want to do, like taking the subway, shopping, similar to when I was in school. Maybe I will do it in the future.

GQ Magazine: Do you miss the life of an ordinary person?
Xiao Zhan: It’s not about missing; I feel I should do it. It’s about popularity. I really will take the subway, maybe tomorrow. It’s too normal; I used to take the subway every day. For me, there’s nothing I can’t do. What can you find about me? Just say hello, and then move on. It’s just that I don’t want to cause chaos, trouble, or negative reactions.

Talking about Personality
GQ Magazine: You haven’t participated in variety shows in recent years. Is this a deliberate choice?
Xiao Zhan: Yes, it is. Due to my personality, I find it exhausting to be in variety shows. I tend to consider everyone’s feelings, which becomes tiring for me. Since I know it would lead to such a result, I’d rather not do it.

GQ Magazine: What was your original intention for entering the entertainment industry?
Xiao Zhan: It truly happened inexplicably. In the past, when I watched interviews of top contestants on talent shows being asked how they reached that point, they often said they accompanied a friend to the audition, and while the friend didn’t make it, they did. When I was young, I felt these things were distant from me. But when it happened to me, it was indeed quite magical. I participated in a talent show, and here I am now. Life is really interesting.

GQ Magazine: What are some things after entering the industry that you didn’t expect?
Xiao Zhan: One cruel thing is not being able to eat freely. When I see my high school classmates having children and gaining weight, I sigh, wishing I could indulge in food like them. Their life situations make me think that if I hadn’t chosen this path, we might all be the same, dealing with socializing and staying up late for work. I don’t know how tiring designing can be, but that’s life, there’s no way around it.

GQ Magazine: How has choosing this path changed you?
Xiao Zhan: Perhaps I’ve missed out on a lot in life. My classmates and friends far exceed me in life experiences. They go through real things without cameras pointing at them, without spotlights. They live their own real lives.

GQ Magazine: Are you a emotionally stable person?
Xiao Zhan: Mostly stable. But when certain points are touched, I can become quite unstable.

GQ Magazine: For example?
Xiao Zhan: It’s something that can’t be said… hehe. Maybe when unbelievable things happen, I wonder why or when things that normal people wouldn’t do occur, it makes me angry. It might be related to privacy issues. If that boundary is crossed, I explode. Everyone has their own limits, and I stay away from people who lack a sense of propriety. But when those boundaries are repeatedly broken, reaching the bottom line, I get very angry.

GQ Magazine: You mentioned having a particularly firm side to your personality. What does that specifically refer to?
Xiao Zhan: Principles. I’m a very principled person. If I believe in something and think it’s right, it’s challenging to persuade me otherwise. For example, if I want to be an actor and someone tries to force me into something outside of acting, we can debate about it. It’s not about right or wrong; the team is also looking out for my best interests. Many opportunities are good things. But for me, I need to subtract because some things are genuinely not what I want.

GQ Magazine: Do you have a perfectionistic side?
Xiao Zhan: I just want to do it well, give it my best in the moment. The outcome may not always be good, but what can you do? I can only do my best.

GQ Magazine: Can you accept failure?
Xiao Zhan: I can. A few years ago, maybe I couldn’t accept it as well as now, but 32-year-old Xiao Zhan has learned to accept it. (laughs)

Credits:
Makeup & Hairstyling: Qing Jun
(DDJ STUDIO)
Art: Li Linghui
Producer: Imperfect Studio
Wardrobe Assistants: Ekko, Shi Yawen, Ren Yixuan, Chen Yiyang
Outfit brown vest and long pants are both from GUCCI

GQ Magazine Original Interview in Chinese: https://weibo.com/u/1667999147

NOTE: This translation belongs to me. It is prohibited to copy / Re-translate / Re-distribute my translations without my prior permission. Thank you.

Loved my translation? Buy me a coffee! Scan the QR Code.
Thank you for your generosity!💖

Leave a comment