The Last Prince – Chapter 13

 The boy Mingyue encountered was, in fact, Lan Quan, the sixteen-year-old younger brother of Wu Lan Ying. The siblings had traveled by train from Harbin to Fengtian two years prior and hadn’t returned since. They grew up in a village of over a hundred households. Their father split his time between farming and teaching the village children to read and write. His teaching fee was three measures of wheat each autumn. Their mother wove cloth and made shoes at home. Both Lan Ying and Lan Quan were diligent and intelligent students from a young age. Especially Lan Quan, who had an exceptional memory. At a tender age, he knew the paths of the nearby villages like the back of his hand. Even adults would ask him for directions. However, at the age of nine, he fell seriously ill, which affected one of his eyes and muddled his once-sharp mind. He couldn’t remember things as before and later assisted his father in tending to their small plot of land.
 “Lan Quan is adept at farming. The rice seedlings he plants stand as straight as if they were lined up with a string. He’s obedient and sensible, and we get along very well. When I went to a middle school in Harbin, spending all our savings, there wasn’t enough money left for my university in Fengtian. My brother then proposed to accompany me to Fengtian, assuring our parents he’d find work to support my studies,” Wu Lan Ying paused, wiping her eyes with a handkerchief. “Since coming here, my living expenses have been covered by the money he earns. He’s taken on various odd jobs. After ensuring he has enough for his meals, he saves the rest for me. Have you seen my shoes? Worn and old, right? They were once new, bought from a store, not some second-hand bargain. My brother bought them for me. I was the envy of my classmates when I wore them to school. One day, I fell ill, and he rushed from his factory to see me, handing me the money he earned, even if it meant missing work and getting his wages docked. He’s still just a child, perhaps even younger than you…”
 “Your brother works at the rubber factory, right?”
 Wu Lan Ying nodded.
 After a pause, Mingyue asked, “Can I help in any way? Or assist your brother?”
 “I’m sharing this not for your pity or charity. You’ve helped me, and I wanted to explain. But please, don’t tell anyone. That’s all I ask. As for the rest, I’m about to graduate. I’ll find a decent job. I might not be like you, but I’ll improve,” Lan Ying said with determination.
 Mingyue nodded, but her thoughts lingered on Lan Ying’s words, “I might not be like you.” How could Lan Ying think she was any less? She was a hardworking university student with dreams and a bright future. More importantly, she had the love and support of her family, evident in the worn-out shoes and the coins saved for her.
 Mingyue chose to remain silent.
 However, the memories and experiences of this sixteen-year-old girl, the gap between her dreams and reality, and the hardships she faced, prompted Mingyue to reflect deeply. Reflection brings clarity and independence, but it also makes one less naive.
 Xian Yang began to notice subtle changes in Mingyue’s character that unsettled him.
 His initial realization dated back to the previous autumn when Mingyue was almost married off to the south. He learned about the entire affair from the servants, his mother, and Cai Zhu. Yet, the young Mingyue, even after being pulled from the train station, remained silent about the ordeal. It was only later that Xian Yang understood her silence, attributing it to her naive nature.
 Then there was the lie she told, claiming he was her uncle. While it might have been challenging for Mingyue to explain their relationship to her peers, Xian Yang had hoped she’d confide in him. But she never did.
 He also noticed her spending more time outside, returning home later. One day, he spotted her wandering the streets, watching old men play chess. He considered fetching her but decided against it, thinking she was enjoying herself.
 In mid-June, the family planned a trip to the seaside in Dandong. Mingyue, preoccupied with her studies, chose to stay in Fengtian. During the trip, Xian Yang went fishing. To his surprise, Cai Zhu, six months pregnant, insisted on joining. Despite the rough seas, she persevered, reminding Xian Yang of Mingyue’s resilience.
 A few days later, as Xian Yang watched children play on the beach, he was reminded of Mingyue. He called home, only to learn she hadn’t returned yet. Disheartened, he rejoined the family gathering.

NOTE: This translation belongs to me. It is prohibited to copy / Re-translate / Re-distribute my translations without my prior permission. Thank you.

Loved my translation? Buy me a coffee! Scan the QR Code.
Thank you for your generosity!💖

Join my Patreon to receive updates in advance!

Leave a comment